The High Desert Daffodil Society

High Desert Daffodil Society Holds First Meeting

The first meeting of the High Desert Daffodil Society (HDDS) was held on Saturday, February 22, 2020, in Reno, NV. Ten of the founding members enjoyed a potluck lunch while getting to know other daffodil enthusiasts from Reno and Sparks. Some Reno, Dayton, Incline Village, Las Vegas and Winnemucca founding members were unable to attend this first meeting but were there in spirit. Since there are so few societies in the West, we decided to broaden our footprint from Northern Nevada to include Southern Nevada and East to who knows where, well, right now it is Winnemucca!

Nancy Tackett, the President of the American Daffodil Society (ADS), gave a welcoming presentation and presented daffodil gift bags to the group. Sara Kinne, of the ADS Membership Committee, baked daffodil-imprinted cookies for the new HDDS members. We elected officers and reviewed and passed our mission statement and goals. We also worked on our bylaws as initial steps towards becoming a non-profit organization. We discussed dues. The newly elected officers (for two-year terms) are Susan Duncan as President, Dan Williams as Vice President, Darcy Anderson as Secretary, and Leslie Dattel as Treasurer.

Eventually we will have our own shows during our high desert daffodil bloom period (end of March-mid May), but right now we want to get organized, share ideas and have some fun! COVID of course stopped us in our tracks. Crossing our fingers that COVID will be under control by autumn, we are busy planning the ADS 2021 Fall Forum and Board Meeting that will be held at the Whitney Peak Hotel in Reno, NV, October 21-24.

There is no other daffodil society in Nevada. The American Daffodil Society had two members from Nevada before this local society started forming – one in Las Vegas and one in Reno. Then a Sparks enthusiast joined. Currently we have 45 founding members, including 5 youth members.

High Desert Daffodil Society members show off the daffodil cookies: Front Row L to R: Steve Miller, Carolyn Jensen, Leslie Dattel, Susan Duncan, Joyce Seelen. Back Row L to R: Dan Williams, Darcy Anderson, Cathy Logan, Patricia Eisenberg, Nancy Tackett (Speaker), and Erin Logan.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: